The Apron Archives

I don’t think I need to explain the inspiration behind these cupcakes.  The squiggle alone is a dead giveaway.

The Hostess version we are all familiar with is arguably one of America’s most popular snack cakes (kissing cousins with the other Hostess favorite, the Twinkie).  While the Hostess chocolate cupcake has been around since 1919, it wasn’t until 1950 that they added the cream filling and signature squiggle, with its exactly seven loops. 

Don’t count mine…I just did the best I could. 

In the 1970’s Hostess added cartoon mascots for each of its popular products, and the cupcake was represented by Captain Cupcake.  He’s no Fruit Pie the Magician, but I pretty much love any ridiculous food mascot, so the Captain is alright by me. 

The cream filling is key.  And delicious…

My family celebrated my Nana’s birthday this weekend, and I jumped at the chance to make her a special dessert with an icing…

View original post 385 more words

Leave a Reply

